Top

Introduction

Locations allow you to keep track of where your items are located. The list of locations shows the number of items currently assigned to each location. A location has a name, containers, note, and pictures.

Top

Display

The Locations screen shows the list of locations and their containers. Two special locations are also displayed: All Locations and No Location. All Locations show all items, regardless of their location. No Location shows items that have not been assigned to any location. Each location or container row displays:

If you have setup more than one database, the name of the current database appears at the top under Locations. A shared database will have a cloud icon ☁ before the name. If the shared database is read-only, it will have the ⊘ icon before the name.

Top

Icons

Top

Features

View Items
Tapping a location or container name will bring up a list of associated items.
Tools
Tapping the Tools icon brings up the Tools window. This provides access to Data Transfer, Lookup Lists, Settings, Passcode Lock, and other contact and help information.
Edit
Tapping the Edit button switches between view and edit modes.
Search Locations
The search field at the top of the Locations screen allows you to quickly find any location or container. The search is applied to the name and note. You can also indicate how the search is to be applied by selecting one of the scope buttons below the search field.
View Location
Tapping the detail button to the right of a location brings up the Location screen. This allows you to view the location definition.
Edit Location
You can edit a location one of two ways. Either view the location and tap the Edit button on the Location screen or tap the Edit button on the Locations screen and then tap the location you wish to edit.
Add Location
Enter edit mode by tapping the Edit button. The list of locations will change and a row labeled "Add Location" will appear. Tap this row to bring up the New Location" screen.
Delete Location
Enter edit mode by tapping the Edit button. Tap the red circle delete icon next to the location you wish to delete. You will need to tap the red Delete button to confirm the deletion. If the location contains any items you will be given the choice of deleting the location and all of its items or you can choose to delete the location's items but not the location.
Delete Location Items
Enter edit mode by tapping the Edit button. Tap the red circle delete icon next to the location you wish to delete. You will need to tap the red Delete button to confirm the deletion. You will be given the choice of deleting the location and all of its items or you can choose to delete the location's items but not the location.
Reorder Locations
Locations can be automatically sorted or manually sorted. Go to the Sorting Options section of the Settings page. Set the "Auto Sort Locations" option as desired. If off then manual sorting is done on the Locations screen. Enter edit mode by tapping the Edit button. A reorder handle will appear to the right of each location. Press and drag this handle to move the location into the desired position.
Expand/Collapse
Tap the little triangle to the left of any collection, location, or container to show or hide any child locations or containers.
Edit Container
Containers are part of a location. To edit a container you must edit the location it belongs to.
View Pictures
Tapping the actions icon in the toolbar brings up a menu. Select View Pictures to be able to view all pictures assigned to all of your locations and containers. This does not include any item pictures.
Set All QR Codes
Each location may have a barcode assigned to it. This can be done individually on the Location detail screen, or you can select Set All QR Codes to update every location and container with an appropriate QR code. If you print out these QR codes you can attach them to boxes or other containers. If you then scan the QR code with MyStuff2 you can quickly see a list of items in the associated container.
View All QR Codes
This brings up a photo viewer allowing you to see all of the QR codes assigned to your locations and containers.
Print QR Codes
Having the QR codes assigned in MyStuff2 doesn't provide any useful functionality until the QR codes are printed and attached to your containers. This option makes it easy to print out the QR codes. This brings up the Print QR Codes screen where you are given several layout options based on standard label sheets.

At the bottom of the Locations screen are three buttons allowing you to switch between the Locations, Categories, and Actions screens.

Top

Settings

The following settings affect the Locations screen: