Top

Introduction

The Category screen allows you to setup a new category or edit an existing category.

Note: Certain changes to a category can result is some data loss to existing items associated with the category. It is recommended that the built-in backup feature of MyStuff2 be used before making changes that could cause data loss.

Top

Display

The Category screen displays all of the category properties. This includes:

At the bottom of the screen is the toolbar (hidden while in edit mode). The toolbar includes icons for copying the category and for emailing the category definition to another user of MyStuff2.

Top

Icons

Top

Features

The Category screen is in either view mode or edit mode. To enter edit mode tap the Edit button. To return to view mode tap the Done button. When adding a new category you are already in edit mode. Tapping Save will save the new category. Tapping Cancel will cancel the new category.

Name
Changing a category's name requires being in edit mode. Each category must have a unique name. The name should be simple and no more than 2 or three words. If the first character of the category name is an Emoji or other symbol, the symbol will be used instead of the color dot.
Attributes
A category's attributes represent the data you can enter for any item added to the category. A category must have one or more attributes to be useful. Attributes can be added, removed, renamed, rearranged, or changed. The Category screen must be in edit mode to add, remove, or rearrange attributes. Other changes can be made in either view or edit mode. Attribute names must be unique within a given category. Note: Deleting an attribute or changing the characteristics of an attribute can result in data loss of existing items.
Item Display
When viewing a list of items the item will display based on the Item Display setup for its category. You can define what information will be displayed as a title and optionally a subtitle. You can set the icon and the colors used for the background, title, and subtitle. You can also setup conditional colors that will be applied to items that meet user defined conditions.
Groups
Groups can be considered sub-categories. They allow you to group similar items together. Groups can contain subgroups. This nesting can be as deep as needed though typically only one or two levels are likely to be used, if any. If "Auto Sort Groups" is turned off then you can manually order the groups (while in edit mode). If turned on then groups will be sorted alphabetically for you. The number next to each group is the number of subgroups below the group. Groups can be added, removed, renamed, rearranged (if not automatically sorted), or changed. The Category screen must be in edit mode to add, remove, or rearrange groups. Other changes can be made in either view or edit mode. If you choose to delete a group that contains items then you will have the option to move the items to the parent category, delete the items along with the group, or just delete the items leaving the group in place.
Pictures
You can add up to 40 pictures to any category. Pictures can come from your photo library or from the device's camera (if any). You can also select a picture from any of your setup import sources. If you have Camera+ installed you can use it to take a photo or select a picture. If there is a picture in the clipboard you can paste that picture. While in view mode you can tap on a picture to view the full sized version in the Photo Viewer screen. To add a picture enter edit mode. Tap Add Picture and select a source of the picture. To replace an existing picture enter edit mode and tap the picture to replace. Select the source of the new picture. To edit an existing picture enter edit mode and tap the picture to replace. Select Edit from the source list. To delete a picture enter edit mode and tap the delete icon to the left of the picture. To reorder the pictures enter edit mode. Use the reorder handle to change the picture order.
Collections
A category can be assigned to zero or more collections. A collection is a way to group two or more categories together on the Categories screen and to view all the items from all the collection's categories.
Default Location
This allows you to pick a default location for any new item added to this category. Changing the value has no effect on existing items. Tap the Default Location row to bring up the Location selection screen. Tap the location or container to use as the default. Choose 'No Location' for no default.
Product Mappings
Product mappings are used in conjunction with product searches and barcode entry. It allows data from found products to be automatically filled into the attributes of an item. The Product Mapping screen allows you to pick product departments and assign product attributes to category attributes.
Items Read-only
Turning this on prevents you from making any changes to any items assigned to the category. No items can be added, edited, or deleted.
Passcode Lock
Whether the application level passcode lock is enabled or not, you can set a passcode for individual categories. If enabled, you will need to enter the category's specific passcode to view items within the category.
Note
You can enter a note about the category. The beginning of the note will appear on the Categories screen.

The toolbar provides:

Copy Category
Tap the copy icon to create a copy of the current category. This does not copy any items, just the category configuration. All you need to do is give the new category a name and make whatever other changes you need.
Share Category
Tap the email icon to share the category template. This generate a MyStuff2 template file (msd). You will be prompted to select the destination for the template file. Choosing email will allow you to email the template file to someone. The template file will be an attachment to the email allowing the user to quickly import the category into their own copy of MyStuff2.

Top

Settings

The following settings affect the Category screen: